Meet Malachi

This week’s staff spotlight is on Malachi!  He very patiently waited for our interview, so without further ado…
Mali 1
Quick Facts:
Name: Malachi Spruill
Age: 21, Birthday April 5th
Position: Server/bartender
Hometown: Windsor, VA
Favorite WHBC  Beer: I don’t drink beer
Favorite WHBC Food: Pork Parmesan
Education: Windsor High School, Radford Online, Hampton University

WHBC: Hi Malachi!  Tell me about all that schooling.  What is your major?
M: I’m studying Food & Beverage. I want to work in the hotel industry running a restaurant and banquet services.
WHBC: Have you ever done that type of work before?
M: Yes, I used to work for Hilton Garden Inn as a server and banquet server.  I like serving, but it’s nice to oversee everything.  Plus, you get hotel discounts, so that will help me get to travel the world.
WHBC: Where is the first place you want to go?
M: That’s hard!  Italy, I guess.  It’s just beautiful and they have great wine!
WHBC: So how long have you worked here?
M: Since August of last year.  I started here as a server.  I had 3 jobs at the time; Hilton, Verizon and here.  Now I work just here and on my dad’s car lot.
WHBC:  Your family is local?  You were born and raised here?
M: Yes, we lived in Gates County for a bit, but mostly here.
WHBC: Do you have a favorite childhood memory?
M: My family and I traveled a lot.  My favorite place was the Bahamas.  We went on a cruise (I snuck into the bar) and got to go to Atlantis.
WHBC: Very cool.  What’s something that you loved to do as a kid?
M: I used to race dirt bikes when we lived in Gates County.  I was 8 or 10 years old, I can’t remember.  I wasn’t very good though.  I couldn’t keep my balance.  The last time I fell, I hit a pole and my dad told me I was done. haha
WHBC: Ouch.  Probably for the best. So what do you do for fun now?
M: I like to go to concerts, go to different bars with friends and family, and go to OBX.  We sit on the beach and drink and eat!
WHBC: What type of music do you like?
M: All types.  I’ll go to pretty much any concert.  I’m getting ready to go see Florida Georgia Line.
WHBC: Do you have any hobbies?
M: Not really.  I would love to be on an adult kickball or dodgeball team.
WHBC: That would be so fun!  Back to work for a second here.  What do you like best about working here?
M:  The staff and customers.  The customers are the best!  If the staff wasn’t so great, I would not enjoy my job as much.  They make the time go by fast.
WHBC: Do you have a favorite person to work with?
W:  Meagan.   She scratches my back.
WHBC: You are at least the third person to say this.  I think I need to hit her up for one of these back rubs I keep hearing about!  So it’s fun to work here.  I get it.  But what about when it gets slammed.  How do you get through it?
M: I just tell myself to calm down and at the end of the day it will all be okay.  I don’t rush – rushing leads to mistakes.  I like to be busy though; it makes the day go faster.  I like to look back at the end of the day and think, “I did that and didn’t get stressed!”  I feel accomplished.
WHBC: That is it’s own accomplishment for sure.  So weird question time. You knew these were coming.  If, when you die, you could come back as anything, what would it be?
M: Alcohol.  Because people really love me for a short time, then I’d be gone.  That’s how I am now.  I like to be around people, but then like to be left alone for a while too.  I swear I’m not an alcoholic!
WHBC: No judgement here! haha.  Last question.  Give your 13 year old self some advice.
M: Don’t be in a rush to grow up.  When you get to college pick one major and stick with it; don’t bounce around.  I wasted so much time trying different things and ended up right back where I wanted to start in the beginning.
WHBC: Excellent.  Thanks for hanging out with me for a few minutes today!
Mali 2
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.